The History of ECHO
Naval Air Station St. Simons was an important installation during World War II. Radar was a new technology, a critical advantage for the allies and a top priority for the base’s mission. ECHO is the former location for officers’ quarters, classrooms and towers using to amplify the signal during the War. Plus, the former King and Prince bar was an after-hours gathering spot for soldiers, their wives and members of the local Civil Air Patrol.
The New Experience
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, ECHO brings a fresh flair to St. Simons’ restaurant scene. The bar opens daily and serves the island’s finest handcrafted cocktails. Our culinary team’s local-first philosophy and longstanding relationships with coastal farmers and purveyors creates a one-of-a-kind menu of seasonal favorites like Shrimp & Grits and Fried Green Tomato Napoleon.
The King and Prince Club opened as a seaside dance club in 1935. Six years later, on July 2, 1941, the main hotel building opened to the public as The King and Prince Hotel and was immediately praised for its modern features and magnificent ocean views. In 2005, The King and Prince Resort was named to the National Register of Historic Places.
The name ‘ECHO’ comes from the island’s naval history. During War World II, the center of operations house at The King and Prince were officers’ quarters, classrooms and towers used to amplify signals. As radar sent its electromagnetic waves in and out and then repeated, this ebb and flow became the heartbeat of the War’s impact on St. Simons Island.